Happy National Watermelon Day! Watermelon/Cucumber Gazpacho Recipe

Posted: August 3, 2012 by sievelsg in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I just saw on Boston.com that today is national watermelon day so I feel compelled to share this recipe with you. I had this for the first time when I was on the cape with my in-laws and it was so good I had to recreate it. My first batch was WAY too spicy, but I still ate all of it. I made my second batch for a friend’s birthday this week and I was very happy with how it turned out and I am 99% sure that I figured out the ingredient I had been missing. The beauty of gazpacho is that you can throw in almost any kind of veggie you want and it will just alter the flavor of the soup without ruining it. If you want something heartier add tomatoes, something fresher, add celery. You really can’t go wrong. Here’s what I settled on for my version:

ImageImage

Cucumber and Watermelon Gazpacho:

1/2 a seedless watermelon cut into chunks (or one package of pre-cut watermelon from the grocery store)
2 large peeled cucumbers cut into chunks
1 or 2 bell peppers seeded and cut in fourths, I like red or orange just to keep the color appetizing
1/2 a large onion or a whole small one, cut into chunks
Handful of Basil, as much as you want depending on how much of the flavor you want to come through
Handful of Parsley, this is optional but I like the way it tastes
3 or 4 tablespoons of Mascarpone cheese, this is optional if you want to keep it vegan or healthier, but it brings out the sweetness of the watermelon really well. You can also add sour cream or creme fraiche if you prefer
1 seeded and chopped jalapeno, also optional but I like the touch of heat this adds. You could also use a pinch of wasabi or horseradish or a dash of hot sauce. Just keep in mind that the heat really spreads out in this since it’s very liquid so a little goes a loooong way.
1 or 2 tablespoons of olive oil
Salt and Pepper to taste

Just toss everything into a food processor and puree away. Some people like chunks of fruit in their soup and will set aside some diced watermelon and cucumber to add back in after pureeing, but I like the whole thing nice and smooth. 

Once the texture is to your liking, just toss it in the fridge and enjoy! I personally thing the flavor gets better after a day or two and it’s so refreshing on a hot afternoon or evening. 

 

Leave a comment