Boxing Take 3

Posted: April 5, 2011 by sievelsg in Daily Log, Smo

Boxing last night was pretty awesome as usual, but I wanted to actually hit someone for the first time since starting. You know how when you are working really really hard it’s annoying to see someone half-assing it just to get through the workout? That happened last night over and over during the class with multiple people. The more exhausted I got, the more irritating I found it because everyone who was slacking (skipping reps, taking water breaks whenever, etc.) was chit-chatting at level 10 about new clothes, vacations, their boyfriends, their nail polish, and then some. One of the things I really liked about my first two sessions of boxing was that they were devoid of teenyboppers in spandex short-shorts skipping around the gym squealing at each other like baby piglets. Unfortunately, they all found their way into the class yesterday so  I will have to learn to deal. My workout buddy validated my feelings when she looked over at me and gasped “I’m going to kill her.” while we were in the middle of a killer ab set and one young lady was screeching to her friend about her upcoming vacation and what she was going to wear. I was at first very impressed with her ability to do leg raises and reverse crunches while carrying on a non-stop stream of conversation until I looked over and noticed that she was just lying on her back spewing verbal diarrhea at her friend. Had she been cranking out crunches like the rest of us, I would have been forced to let it slide and envy her fitness, but instead it just really irked me that she was being so inconsiderate. Oh well, I’m still sore today so i got what I wanted out of it!

Hopefully I will miss the rain and be able to take the pup for a run tonight before cracking my laptop open for a second session of work. The weather is so nice out right now I’m really crossing my fingers is doesn’t downpour!

Daily Log:

Breakfast – black coffee
snack – pumpkin seeds
Lunch – banana, clementine, lara bar
Snack – a few olives
Dinner – crustless quiche from balancedbites.com
Dessert – avocado chocolate pudding!!

So this pudding looks good and I’ve been meaning to make it for ages, so I’m going to share the recipe I plan on attempting tonight. I’ve seen a million different variations of it, but this one looks great and doesn’t involve any sweetners outside of some ripe bananas, so here’s the details:

Dairy Free Chocolate Pudding
from BalancedBites.com (my new favorite website)

(use all organic ingredients when possible)

Ingredients

1 avocado
1 medium-large banana
2 Tbsp coconut or almond milk (I often use homemade, look for the recipe here soon!)
3-4 Tbsp Carob or Cocoa powder (unsweetened)

Optional Ingredients:
a pinch of green leaf stevia
a pinch of sea salt
a dash of cinnamon
1/4 tsp real vanilla extract
1 Tbsp cacao nibs (as garnish, do not put in food processor)

Preparation

  • Halve the avocado and remove the pit. Scoop out the fruit into a food processor with the banana, coconut milk (or other) and carob or cocoa powder.
  • Add any other ingredients and allow it to blend together until completely combined.
  • I use a small hand blender attachment that has a mini-food processor, but you can use a food processor or blender most likely. Depending on how much you’re making, you may need to do a lot of scraping down of the sides of the processor. You could also whip this by hand or with beaters

-SMO

Comments
  1. So glad you’re loving my site :)

    • morgansg says:

      Your site is amazing!! I’m so glad to have found it, I have newfound inspiration to try some more creative things in the kitchen, and I am loving your blog, especially the Monday Motivations! Thanks for creating such an amazing resource :)

Leave a Reply

